The David Powell Member of the Year Award

The David Powell CFLA Member of the Year Award recognizes members who work to advance the industry’s priorities and the CFLA’s goals. The award is named after the CFLA’s former President and CEO. When he first announced the award, Powell said “The CFLA’s success in servicing its members and advocating for the industry is only possible through the valuable voluntary contributions made by our many members.”

2020-21 Recipients

The Canadian Finance & Leasing Association (CFLA) announced its COVID Response Committee as this year’s David Powell CFLA Member of the Year. During the CFLA’s 48th annual conference, Mike Rusch, incoming CFLA Board Chair and President of member company Jim Pattison Lease, presented the Member of the Year award to the committee’s members:

  • Angela Armstrong, Prime Capital Group;
  • Moe Danis, Juno Financial Group Corp;
  • Jeff Hartley, LeasePlan Canada Ltd;
  • Blake Macaskill, Ritchie Bros Financial Services;
  • Richard McAuliffe, Key Equipment Finance Canada Ltd; and
  • Tom Pundyk.

Formed in March 2020, the COVID Response Committee assisted the CFLA to navigate the challenging economic, health and social changes brought on by the pandemic along with the associated public health measures and their impacts on the CFLA’s members and industry. Made up of experienced, senior leaders, the COVID Response Committee was critical to the success of the CFLA’s advocacy efforts on behalf of its members, like ensuring fleet and other corporate members were part of the various provincial essential services lists and the rapid implementation of e-chattel paper legislation in Ontario during the height of the crisis.

Past Honorees

2019-20: Women in Asset Finance Committee

  • Diane P.L. Brooks (Blaney McMurtry LLP)
  • Angela Armstrong (Prime Capital Group Inc. & immediate past-chair)
  • Suhuyini Abudulai (Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP)
  • Gary Batchelor (CLE Capital Inc)
  • Janice Boulet (CWB National Leasing Inc)
  • Jeff Brubacher (Equifax Canada)
  • Elaine Curwin (PNC Equipment Finance)
  • Kirstin Elmer (Ritchie Bros. Financial Services Ltd.)
  • Lucy Forte-Morelli (RBC Equipment Finance Group)
  • Jeff Haig (TAO Asset Management Inc.)
  • Carolyn Hansen (General Motors Financial of Canada Ltd.)
  • Alane MacDonald (TD Equipment Finance Canada)
  • Doug McKenzie (BAL Global Finance Canada Corporation)
  • Lori Murtagh (SCI Lease Corp.)
  • Marcelle Newstadt (Equilease Corporation)
  • Elizabeth Sale (Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP)
  • Nicole Taylor-Smith (Miller Thomson LLP)
  • Badria Wolcott (Great American Insurance Company).

2018-19: Hugh Swandel (the Alta Group)**

2016-17: Industry Compensation Survey Steering Committee

Lucy Elcome (RCAP Leasing)
Clara McLaughlin (De Lage Landen Financial Services Canada Inc.)
Rick Yacknovets (Royal Bank Financial Group).

2015-16: Jennifer Babe (Miller Thomson LLP)

2014-15: PayNet, Inc. & William Phelan (PayNet, Inc.)

2013-14: Moe Danis (Pacific & Western Bank)

2012–13: Paul Zalesky (AllWest Insurance Services)

2011–12: Angela Armstrong (Prime Capital Consulting and Forest Leasing)***

2010–11: David Dalziel (Deloitte & Touche)

  • Rishi Malkani (Deloitte & Touche)
  • Loraine McIntosh (Deloitte & Touche)

2009–10: The Canadian Lease Education On-Demand (CLEO) Volunteer Instructors

  • Angela Armstrong (Prime Capital Consulting and Forest Leasing)***
  • Kevin Bowman (Equirex Leasing Corporation)
  • Michael Burke (Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP)
  • Jason Cooper (PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP)
  • Murray Derraugh (The Alta Group)
  • Michel Lévesque (Group Credit Lease)
  • Stuart Sherman (Morrison Acceptance Corporation)
  • Judy Smiley (Maxium Financial Services)
  • Hugh Swandel (The Alta Group)**
  • Michael Stewart (KPMG LLP)
  • Steve Weisz (Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP)
  • Robin Wilks (HUB International HKMB)

2008–09: Michael Collins (DealerTrack Technologies, Inc.)

2007–08: The CFLA Education & Program Committee

  • Chairman: Richard McAuliffe (Key Equipment Finance Canada Ltd.)
  • John Barraclough (Maxium Financial Services Inc.)
  • Gary Batchelor (Travelers Financial Corporation)
  • John Estey (Stonebridge Financial Corporation)
  • Douglas McKenzie (BAL Global Finance Canada Corporation)
  • Alan Morgan (RBC Equipment Finance Group)

2006–07: Ford Motor Company of Canada Ltd. and Ford Credit Canada Ltd.

2005–06: Hugh Swandel (Swandel & Associates)**

2004–05: Peter Freill (Securcor Group of Companies)

2003–04: Mark Robinson (DaimlerChrysler Financial Services Canada Inc.)

2002–03: Diane Sekula (CIT Financial) & Bob Westlake (GE Capital Canada)

2001–02: David Chaiton (Chaitons LLP)

  • Tom Hopkirk (HKMB Capital Solutions)*
  • Raja Singh (Pitney Bowes Global Credit Services)

2000–01: Brian Stevens (MFP Financial Services)

1996–97: Serge Mâsse (Crédit-Bail Findeq)

1995–96: Tom Simmons (Commcorp Financial Services)

1994–95: Greg Korsos (Sako Leasing Inc.)

1993–94: Tom Hopkirk (Barclays Bank of Canada, Leasing Division)*


*Tom Hopkirk was been named Member of the Year twice: in 1993-94 and 2001-02.

** Hugh Swandel has been named Member of the Year three times: in 2005-2006, 2009-2010 and 2018.

*** Angela Armstrong has been named Member of the Year twice: in 2009-2010 and 2011-2012.